IAS Full Form | What Is IAS

IAS Full Form - What Is IAS

IAS Stands for the Indian Administrative Service.

What is IAS

IAS or the Indian Administrative Service is one of the three All India Services. The other two being Indian Police Service (IPS) and IFoS (Indian Forest Service)

How to become an IAS officer?

Ias Full form

As IAS officers are a part of the All India Services, they serve the Government of India as well as state cadres, depending on their deputation. During the British era, it was referred to as the Indian/Imperial Civil Service (ICS). After independence, ICS was changed to IAS ( the abbreviated form of Indian Administrative Service).

The minimum educational qualification needed for becoming an IAS officer is graduation from a recognised university.

  • Direct recruits – The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) of India is tasked with the recruitment of IAS officers along with IPS, IRS and other premier Group A (and a few Group B) services. The UPSC recruits All India Service and Central Service officers through the prestigious Civil Service Exam.
  • Promotion from state civil services

Functions of IAS officers:

The IAS – Indian Administrative Service officers, hold key positions in the administrative machinery of the Indian GovernmentGovernment. They are the bureaucratic backbone of the parliamentary system of GovernmentGovernment.

IAS Officers can be a part of the district administration, state secretariat and the central secretariat. The highest-ranking IAS officer in India is the Cabinet Secretary.

  • They oversee law and order, and general administration
  • Collector, District Magistrate, Chief Development Officer, Executive Magistrate, District Development Commissioner are few key posts which are held by IAS officers
  • They can also be appointed to manage Public Sector Undertakings(PSUs)
  • IAS officers handle the day-to-day affairs of the Government
  • Indian Administrative Service officers are involved in policy formulation and policy implementation
  • IAS officers are often tasked with overseeing public fund management

After getting appointed, IAS officer gets which posts,

The Indian Administrative Service (IAS) is the most prestigious service among the civil services of the country.

Every year lakhs of candidates appear in the tough UPSC Civil Services Examination (CSE) to become IAS officers. But few people are able to pass that test and move forward.

Along with this, everyone also wants to know what positions are available after becoming an IAS officer.

Let us know about it in detail.


Civil Services Examination and Selection Process
To become an IAS officer, first of all, the candidate has to pass the UPSC Civil Services Examination.

Candidates who are selected in the Indian Administrative Service undergo three years of training before working as an IAS officer.

The newly recruited candidates are trained at the Lal Bahadur Shastri National Academy of Administration in Mussoorie, Uttarakhand.

The training starts with the foundation course and ends with Bharat Darshan.

Cadre area

Deployed for two years in cadre areas
After training in the path of becoming an IAS officer, the probation period comes when the candidates are posted in cadre areas for two years.

During the probation, candidates learn from various departments of the government. Candidates are taught there how things work.

Not only this, he also has to appear for an examination at the end of the probation period.

Sub division

Posted on district sub-division
IAS officers begin their careers by training with their domestic cadres, after which they get their first posting.

In the initial phase of career, IAS officers are posted as a sub-division magistrate.

They are then appointed at the district level, as District Magistrate or District Collector or Deputy Commissioner. Where the officials supervise the policy formulation, implementation, development work of the concerned district.


Promoted in state administration / PSUs
When you take a district level role as an IAS officer, you are promoted as heads of departments or bureaucrats in the state secretariat.

Many officers are also posted in administrative positions in public sector undertakings (PSUs).

Subsequently, according to the hierarchy of the IAS, officers are posted with the Central Government as Cabinet Secretary, Secretary, Additional Secretary, Joint Secretary, Director, Deputy Secretary and Under Secretary.

Core duties

Basic duties of an IAS officer
IAS officers are tasked with handling governmental affairs at various levels, including the formulation of policies and consultation with the respective ministries.

Their task is to supervise the implementation process and travel to important sites and places.

IAS officers also have to take care of disbursement of funds. In addition, IAS officers are also accountable to Parliament or State Legislative Assemblies.

Baca juga

Post a Comment